hotmail hijacked to phishing site live.com

hotmail hijacked to phishing site live.com

Secure Home | Search | About
 Microsoft Applications Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
hotmail hijacked to phishing site live.com Bruce Robson 04-22-2006
Posted by Bruce Robson on April 22, 2006, 2:29 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
When I attempted to go to hotmail I get a page that looks like the normal
hotmail sign on page but instead of the URL belonging to hotmail.com it is shown
as coming from live.com

The full URL shown is
http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=1033&_lang=EN&vv=400

Is this some sort of phishing attack ?

Posted by =?Utf-8?B?QW5keSBX?= on April 22, 2006, 3:51 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
I don't think so as Live.com is owned by Microsoft, they are currently
working on whats called Windows Live Mail which will replace Hotmail, so you
are probably being redirect to the new servers ready for the new service, I
would not worry about it.

Andy W

"Bruce Robson" wrote:

> When I attempted to go to hotmail I get a page that looks like the normal
> hotmail sign on page but instead of the URL belonging to hotmail.com it is
shown
> as coming from live.com
>
> The full URL shown is
>
http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=1033&_lang=EN&vv=400
>
> Is this some sort of phishing attack ?
>

Posted by PA Bear on April 24, 2006, 12:01 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Did you sign up for Windows Live Mail beta, cos that's where you're being
taken.
--
~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE, Shell/User, Security), Aumha.org VSOP, DTS-L.org

Bruce Robson wrote:
> When I attempted to go to hotmail I get a page that looks like the normal
> hotmail sign on page but instead of the URL belonging to hotmail.com it
> is shown as coming from live.com
>
> The full URL shown is
>
http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=1033&_lang=EN&vv=400
>
> Is this some sort of phishing attack ?


Posted by Jon Phipps on April 24, 2006, 9:23 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
This is simply microsoft telling you that you need to validate your
credentials before they will allow you to acces the site.

> When I attempted to go to hotmail I get a page that looks like the normal
> hotmail sign on page but instead of the URL belonging to hotmail.com it is
> shown as coming from live.com
>
> The full URL shown is
>
http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=1033&_lang=EN&vv=400
>
> Is this some sort of phishing attack ?




Posted by Paul Baker [MVP, Windows - Net on April 24, 2006, 9:37 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
"whois live.com" (whois available on this and other web sites:
http://www.trimmail.com/news/tools/) confirms that live.com is registered to
Microsoft.

Why does this URL not use SSL (start with https://)? Why is it that when I
use this URL except I start it with https://, there is no server certificate
for me to view?

Paul

> This is simply microsoft telling you that you need to validate your
> credentials before they will allow you to acces the site.
>
>> When I attempted to go to hotmail I get a page that looks like the normal
>> hotmail sign on page but instead of the URL belonging to hotmail.com it
>> is shown as coming from live.com
>>
>> The full URL shown is
>>
http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=1033&_lang=EN&vv=400
>>
>> Is this some sort of phishing attack ?
>
>
>



Similar ThreadsPosted
Hijacked Hotmail Account April 1, 2006, 6:12 pm
Site-to-site VPN to client, good idea? November 6, 2008, 9:42 am
Pop Up site cannot remove even with Pop ups set to block this site June 25, 2007, 9:22 am
hijacked desktop December 12, 2005, 5:24 pm
Browser being hijacked? February 21, 2007, 7:03 am
Hijacked Homepage - and can't change it! August 14, 2005, 6:08 pm
why has my .net account hijacked my computer? November 10, 2005, 12:21 pm
Bravesentry.com has hijacked my home pc! May 16, 2008, 11:57 am
phishing March 23, 2006, 8:43 pm
What is phishing? April 18, 2007, 12:35 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy