|
Posted by =?Utf-8?B?bGlrZXNfZGFscw==?= on June 28, 2007, 2:24 am
If you were Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options Thanks all. The email (from service@microsoft.com) requests nothing and
doesn't instruct the reader to do anything. It provides a long number that
appears to be in the format of a product key or serial number and says it can
be used on up to 10 machines and also says to keep the email. It probably
left some malware somewhere for me to find. These folks need to get a life.
Marty
"Shenan Stanley" wrote:
> likes_dals wrote:
> > Hi- I received an email from microsoft.com (supposedly) that
> > included a product key number for IE7. I am running valid copies
> > of XP SP2 and IE7. Did I bite on a virus or is this a valid way for
> > microsoft.com to communicate with me. No logos in the email and
> > link provided to http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=65938
> > doesn't work.
>
> JE wrote:
> > A client received the same email, the actual URL that the link
> > points to is :
> >
> > http://www.frauddeterrence.com/fraudfiles/ie7/IEdownloader.exe
> >
> > I'm trying to find more information now. I'm going to post in a
> > different group to see if I get a response.
>
> Fake.
> Unreal.
> IE7 does not require a key.
> It's free.
> If it asks for information or for you to click on a malformed/misrepresented
> link - it is phishing.
> Erase it.
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>
|