|
Posted by Gary S. Terhune on December 15, 2006, 10:28 am
If you were Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options Your decision to "hang with it" (Norton) seems a bit like throwing good
money (your system) after bad (Norton).
Most of the best alternatives are free for home users. AVG and Avast, for
instance.
--
Gary S. Terhune
MS-MVP Shell/User
http://grystmill.com/articles/cleanboot.htm http://grystmill.com/articles/security.htm "Roll Your Own Free Security Suite"
http://wiki.castlecops.com/Roll_your_own_Free_Security_Suite
bobnrobin wrote:
> "Frank Saunders, MS-MVP OE/WM" wrote:
>
>>> Hello,
>>> If this question should be in a different group, please advise.
>>> In about 5 years of using various versions of Norton AV (current
>>> '06), have
>>> not ever received an email notifying that a certain "many
>>> letters.exe" file
>>> "was infected with the malicious virus Bloodhound.Beagle and has
>>> been deleted
>>> because the file cannot be cleaned." Until yesterday. The sender
>>> was "Janpipkin", title was "price_12-Dec-2006". Email has an
>>> attachment called
>>> "price_12-Dec-2006.email". Reads: "This message has been
>>> processed by Symantec's AntiVirus Technology. Next paragraph:
>>> (Eleven letters).exe was
>>> (as quoted above). Last paragraph: For more information on
>>> antivirus tips
>>> and technology, visit http://ses.Symantec.com/
>>> Normally, since I didn't recognize the name, I would have just
>>> deleted it unopened. But, was expecting an email from Customer
>>> Service of a company regarding an order, and had no idea who might
>>> reply..... so I opened it.. I
>>> did NOT click on the attachment, nor the link in the last
>>> paragraph. I went
>>> to the Symantec site, but could not find anything helpful. I also
>>> checked the Norton AV logs, and they do not show any such
>>> activity....
>>> Just wondering if this has happened to others, if it's standard
>>> procedure from Norton, or some sort of spam, scam, or other bad n'
>>> nasty. Appreciate any words of wisdom, thanks.
>>>
>>
>> I've been getting a lot of these from "BearPABearMVP" Which is some
>> malwares understanding to the entry for PA Bear on someone's infected
>> computer. The message is well spoofed with nothing traceable in the
>> headers. I deleted it without opening it. Well, not quite. The
>> first one I read using the Properties button in OETool which is free
>> from www.oehelp.com
>>
>> --
>> Frank Saunders, MS-MVP OE/WM
>> http://www.fjsmjs.com
>> Answer in newsgroup. Don't send mail.
>
>
>
> Thanks, so much, Bear and Frank.....
>
> For taking the time to reply. After several years of visiting the
> newsgroups to learn, it's apparent that many of you - MVP's and other
> Pros. - do not like some of the Norton/Symantec products, with good
> reason, so thanks again for replying to Norton questions. With 200++
> days of a paid subscription left, I gotta hang with it for a bit...
> Incidentally, only after I opened the email, could I see the address
> of the sender: Janpipkin@comcast.net. This was another reason for
> concern. Should I warn some contacts who use comcast ?
> Thanks again to both.
|