somthing redirects to a phony website

somthing redirects to a phony website

Secure Home | Search | About
 Microsoft Antivirus Discussions    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
somthing redirects to a phony website loveforlife 12-02-2006
Posted by =?Utf-8?B?bG92ZWZvcmxpZmU=?= on December 8, 2006, 11:24 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Thanks Newell, that worked perfectly.
--
loveforlife


"Newell White" wrote:

> To avoid re-direction of www.escrow.com (which name has been associated with
> a wrong IP address):
>
> 1) Remove it from your Web browser favourites.
> 2) Open C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in Notepad, search for any
> line containing www.escrow.com and delete the entire line.
>
> To avoid this problem in future, don't double click a link in an e-mail.
> Instead, just select (highlight) the link, Copy, then Paste in your browser's
> address bar. This ensures that you use the web's DNS server to get the right
> IP address for that name rather than trusting the e-mail to play straight
> with you.
> Or you could set your e-mail program to show all messages as plain text -
> then you have to use Copy and Paste, just like living in 1994 again.
> --
> Newell White
>
>
> "loveforlife" wrote:
>
> > I believe the original email has been deleted so it's hard to find the
> > source. Any ideas how?This redirect happens every time I enter
www.escrow.com
> > on this computer. Only vital info I gave on the site was my address and
phone
> > #. I have run updated Norton antivirus and spybot and the microsoft onine
> > scan.
> > --
> > loveforlife
> >
> >
> > "Panda_man" wrote:
> >
> > > "loveforlife" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Sorry , no attachments it just left something that sent me to a phony
> > > > duplicate site. www.escrow.com. So when I go to that site it says the
domain
> > > > is suspended but when i go to that site from my laptop it goes to the
> > > > legitimate site. The folks at the legitimate site said I was given a
virus to
> > > > send me to a fake site. I can't find the virus and want to ensure it
didn't
> > > > cause any other problems
> > > >
> > >
> > > If there was no attachment and you didn't open anything then there is no
> > > problem . Other option is if there was a link you clicked and this link
sent
> > > you to a fake site . If you didn't provide any personal info on that site
,
> > > again don't worry . I may haven't understood you correctly but there is no
> > > way if you just received an email and then just started to be redircted to
a
> > > fake site ... One more question , are you automatically redirected to that
> > > site again or it happened once ?
> > >
> > > Check your computer for any kind of malicious software to remove possible
> > > infections , infections you suspect . Perform the Malware Removal
> > > Instructions in my site here http://pandaman.my.contact.bg
> > >
> > > Regards!
> > > --
> > > Panda_man
> > > Silver level Contributor

Similar ThreadsPosted
I think I dwnloaded somthing that deletes' video files out of the temp folder November 15, 2007, 7:34 am
Our new website February 8, 2008, 6:32 pm
Allie Website? December 1, 2006, 9:44 am
Website proofing May 23, 2008, 5:34 am
Anyone know what is wrong with this Microsoft website? September 7, 2006, 6:35 am
I have a worm or virus that does not allow me to go to ANY anti-virus website January 28, 2006, 10:29 pm
http://www.spyware-solutions.info a website about spyware solutions November 11, 2006, 8:07 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy