somthing redirects to a phony website

somthing redirects to a phony website

Secure Home | Search | About
 Microsoft Antivirus Discussions    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
somthing redirects to a phony website loveforlife 12-02-2006
Posted by =?Utf-8?B?UGFuZGFfbWFu?= on December 3, 2006, 2:04 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
"loveforlife" wrote:

> Sorry , no attachments it just left something that sent me to a phony
> duplicate site. www.escrow.com. So when I go to that site it says the domain
> is suspended but when i go to that site from my laptop it goes to the
> legitimate site. The folks at the legitimate site said I was given a virus to
> send me to a fake site. I can't find the virus and want to ensure it didn't
> cause any other problems
>

If there was no attachment and you didn't open anything then there is no
problem . Other option is if there was a link you clicked and this link sent
you to a fake site . If you didn't provide any personal info on that site ,
again don't worry . I may haven't understood you correctly but there is no
way if you just received an email and then just started to be redircted to a
fake site ... One more question , are you automatically redirected to that
site again or it happened once ?

Check your computer for any kind of malicious software to remove possible
infections , infections you suspect . Perform the Malware Removal
Instructions in my site here http://pandaman.my.contact.bg

Regards!
--
Panda_man
Silver level Contributor

Posted by =?Utf-8?B?bG92ZWZvcmxpZmU=?= on December 3, 2006, 5:06 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
I believe the original email has been deleted so it's hard to find the
source. Any ideas how?This redirect happens every time I enter www.escrow.com
on this computer. Only vital info I gave on the site was my address and phone
#. I have run updated Norton antivirus and spybot and the microsoft onine
scan.
--
loveforlife


"Panda_man" wrote:

> "loveforlife" wrote:
>
> > Sorry , no attachments it just left something that sent me to a phony
> > duplicate site. www.escrow.com. So when I go to that site it says the domain
> > is suspended but when i go to that site from my laptop it goes to the
> > legitimate site. The folks at the legitimate site said I was given a virus
to
> > send me to a fake site. I can't find the virus and want to ensure it didn't
> > cause any other problems
> >
>
> If there was no attachment and you didn't open anything then there is no
> problem . Other option is if there was a link you clicked and this link sent
> you to a fake site . If you didn't provide any personal info on that site ,
> again don't worry . I may haven't understood you correctly but there is no
> way if you just received an email and then just started to be redircted to a
> fake site ... One more question , are you automatically redirected to that
> site again or it happened once ?
>
> Check your computer for any kind of malicious software to remove possible
> infections , infections you suspect . Perform the Malware Removal
> Instructions in my site here http://pandaman.my.contact.bg
>
> Regards!
> --
> Panda_man
> Silver level Contributor

Posted by =?Utf-8?B?TmV3ZWxsIFdoaXRl?= on December 5, 2006, 7:20 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
To avoid re-direction of www.escrow.com (which name has been associated with
a wrong IP address):

1) Remove it from your Web browser favourites.
2) Open C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in Notepad, search for any
line containing www.escrow.com and delete the entire line.

To avoid this problem in future, don't double click a link in an e-mail.
Instead, just select (highlight) the link, Copy, then Paste in your browser's
address bar. This ensures that you use the web's DNS server to get the right
IP address for that name rather than trusting the e-mail to play straight
with you.
Or you could set your e-mail program to show all messages as plain text -
then you have to use Copy and Paste, just like living in 1994 again.
--
Newell White


"loveforlife" wrote:

> I believe the original email has been deleted so it's hard to find the
> source. Any ideas how?This redirect happens every time I enter www.escrow.com
> on this computer. Only vital info I gave on the site was my address and phone
> #. I have run updated Norton antivirus and spybot and the microsoft onine
> scan.
> --
> loveforlife
>
>
> "Panda_man" wrote:
>
> > "loveforlife" wrote:
> >
> > > Sorry , no attachments it just left something that sent me to a phony
> > > duplicate site. www.escrow.com. So when I go to that site it says the
domain
> > > is suspended but when i go to that site from my laptop it goes to the
> > > legitimate site. The folks at the legitimate site said I was given a virus
to
> > > send me to a fake site. I can't find the virus and want to ensure it
didn't
> > > cause any other problems
> > >
> >
> > If there was no attachment and you didn't open anything then there is no
> > problem . Other option is if there was a link you clicked and this link sent
> > you to a fake site . If you didn't provide any personal info on that site ,
> > again don't worry . I may haven't understood you correctly but there is no
> > way if you just received an email and then just started to be redircted to a
> > fake site ... One more question , are you automatically redirected to that
> > site again or it happened once ?
> >
> > Check your computer for any kind of malicious software to remove possible
> > infections , infections you suspect . Perform the Malware Removal
> > Instructions in my site here http://pandaman.my.contact.bg
> >
> > Regards!
> > --
> > Panda_man
> > Silver level Contributor

Posted by BoaterDave on December 5, 2006, 11:23 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Hi Newell.

Would this apply to links in *Newsgroup messages* too?
Would NIS 2006 "catch" a nastie as described, or would it just slip throgh
the net? :-)

David
____________________________________________

> To avoid this problem in future, don't double click a link in an e-mail.
> Instead, just select (highlight) the link, Copy, then Paste in your
> browser's
> address bar. This ensures that you use the web's DNS server to get the
> right
> IP address for that name rather than trusting the e-mail to play straight
> with you.
> Or you could set your e-mail program to show all messages as plain text -
> then you have to use Copy and Paste, just like living in 1994 again.
> --
> Newell White



Posted by =?Utf-8?B?TmV3ZWxsIFdoaXRl?= on December 6, 2006, 4:06 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
ANY hyperlink in ANY document consists of two parts; a text description, and
an underlying address (which can be a web URL, an IP address, or a file
address on the local computer or a network).
Either one can be edited independently - check it out in MS Word - insert a
hyperlink, point it to a file, then alter the Text Description to "this is
not a hyperlink". After insertion in the document, it definitely is a
hyperlink.

The technique of copying and pasting the text description as a URL into your
web browser will get you to the right IP address (via Authoritative Servers
on the web) unless:
1) The URL has a different IP address in your PC's ..\drivers\etc\hosts
file. This precedence is built in to Windows, and you have to check the file
to make sure. Most PCs should have a hosts file consisting only of comment
records.
2) Your network connection has been configured to use an lmhosts file - see
Properties.. Advanced.. DNS. This can be done legitimately by your Network
Administrator, or your broadband ISP configuration, but is not typical.

The hosts file method is used by many viruses/trojans to prevent a home PC
from contacting Symantec, McAfee, Sophos etc.
I check the host files of our network workstations regularly by script as it
is such a quick easy way of detecting infection. In addition to, not instead
of, anti-virus software.

Hope this clarifies.
--
Newell White


"BoaterDave" wrote:

> Hi Newell.
>
> Would this apply to links in *Newsgroup messages* too?
> Would NIS 2006 "catch" a nastie as described, or would it just slip throgh
> the net? :-)
>
> David
> ____________________________________________
>
> > To avoid this problem in future, don't double click a link in an e-mail.
> > Instead, just select (highlight) the link, Copy, then Paste in your
> > browser's
> > address bar. This ensures that you use the web's DNS server to get the
> > right
> > IP address for that name rather than trusting the e-mail to play straight
> > with you.
> > Or you could set your e-mail program to show all messages as plain text -
> > then you have to use Copy and Paste, just like living in 1994 again.
> > --
> > Newell White
>
>
>

Similar ThreadsPosted
I think I dwnloaded somthing that deletes' video files out of the temp folder November 15, 2007, 7:34 am
Our new website February 8, 2008, 6:32 pm
Allie Website? December 1, 2006, 9:44 am
Website proofing May 23, 2008, 5:34 am
Anyone know what is wrong with this Microsoft website? September 7, 2006, 6:35 am
I have a worm or virus that does not allow me to go to ANY anti-virus website January 28, 2006, 10:29 pm
http://www.spyware-solutions.info a website about spyware solutions November 11, 2006, 8:07 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy