|
Posted by on August 16, 2006, 11:10 am
If you were Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options Thank you, David. I have a few questions before I complete your
instructions regarding APROPROS.
I went to the SWANDOG site by following your link and downloaded the
exe. Normally I would consider following a link to be risky.
There was no url in my browser window. Normally, I would consider a
site with a blank url to be risky.
The exe says to run the batch in safe mode. Normally I would consider
running any exe to be risky. I did scan the files with AVG -- no
virus. I also used notepad to read the BATCH file. I found that the
fix looks in the registry for APRPS and ADCHAN1, ADCHAN2, ADCHAN3. I
looked in the registry but did not fine any entries containing those
words.
Normally, I consider messing with the registry to be risky.
QUESTION #1:
Please do not take offense, but how am I to know that the link
you gave me and the program I downloaded is safe to use?
QUESTION #2:
I tried to boot to safe mode. No luck. I chose "restart" and
hit F12 -- no safe mode option. I chose "restart" and hit F2 -- it
took me to BIOS. This is a new laptop. I don't know how to boot to
SAFE MODE.
If you would, please consider my concerns and respond with your advice
and suggestions. Thank you.
<*(((><
==============
===============
================
On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 16:31:03 -0400, "David H. Lipman"
>
>| Thank you for the page references. I'll see if Pest Patrol Free
>| version can get rid of it. If not, I'll remove it manually by
>| deleting any of the listed files.
>|
>| I notice that one description refers to Apropos-Media, PeopleOnPage as
>| part of a Rootkit. Should I check for something else?
>|
>| I just got this new laptop, preloaded with software. Would Toshiba
>| have allowed this to be a part of the preinstalled software?
>|
>| I've also been loading up my own software. That's software that I
>| used on another computer, and malware checks never revealed the
>| existence of Apropos-Media, PeopleOnPage.
>|
>| One of the descriptions said Apropos-Media, PeopleOnPage can be
>| installed as part of Grokster. I've never had that.
>|
>| I'm concerned? curious? about where it came from.
>|
>| <*(((><
>
>The MD5 checksum won't help you as there are always new variants to malware and
the cahnces
>are the checksum won't match what already exists in a database.
>
>Please use Swandog46's Apropos Adware/RootKit remover
>http://swandog46.geekstogo.com/aproposfix.exe
>
>Then follow that up with the following...
>
>Please download, install and update the following software...
>
>* Ad-aware SE v1.06
> http://www.lavasoft.de/
> http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
> http://www.lavasoft.de/ms/index.htm
>
>* SpyBot Search and Destroy v1.4
> http://security.kolla.de/
> http://www.safer-networking.org/microsoft.en.html
>
>* SuperAntiSpyware
> http://www.superantispyware.com/superantispywarefreevspro.html
>
>After the software is updated, I suggest scanning the system in Safe Mode.
>
>--
>Dave
>http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
>http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm
>
|