Suspected malware. Only affecting MLB.COM site.

Suspected malware. Only affecting MLB.COM site.

Secure Home | Search | About
 Microsoft Antivirus Discussions    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Suspected malware. Only affecting MLB.COM site. Paul 12-27-2007
Posted by Paul on December 27, 2007, 10:04 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

I have a problem. It may well be related to malware or maybe not.
Every time I click onto MLB.COM web site: http://mlb.mlb.com/index.jsp I get
referred to the following site.

http://www.hqtube.com/?5519000000

HQTUBE - World of streaming porn!.

The address given in Page Info:

http://ad.doubleclick.net/adi/mlb.mlb/homepage;;pos=1;sz=300x250;tile=1;ord=879088147

This may well be some sort of malware or a new marketing ploy by MLB.

It happens in all browsers. Only on the front page. Others are ok.
I need advice on how to get rid of this problem.

I have contacted MLB customer folks. They have referred it!
Can anyone help?

Thanks.

Paul.

Posted by Volodymyr Shcherbyna on December 27, 2007, 2:38 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Sounds like you have adware which detects the navigation to web site with
given keyword, i.e. mlb and makes targeting popup. I suggest to recheck your
file system with some antivirus. And then take a look at list of BHO
extension for IE - sounds like this dll is represented as BHO, which is able
to track BeforeNavigate & DocumentComplete handlers in IE.

--
Volodymyr
NG tips:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/v_scherbina/pages/microsoft-newsgroups-tips.aspx
>
> I have a problem. It may well be related to malware or maybe not.
> Every time I click onto MLB.COM web site: http://mlb.mlb.com/index.jsp I
> get
> referred to the following site.
>
> http://www.hqtube.com/?5519000000
>
> HQTUBE - World of streaming porn!.
>
> The address given in Page Info:
>
>
http://ad.doubleclick.net/adi/mlb.mlb/homepage;;pos=1;sz=300x250;tile=1;ord=879088147
>
> This may well be some sort of malware or a new marketing ploy by MLB.
>
> It happens in all browsers. Only on the front page. Others are ok.
> I need advice on how to get rid of this problem.
>
> I have contacted MLB customer folks. They have referred it!
> Can anyone help?
>
> Thanks.
>
> Paul.



Posted by =?Utf-8?B?U3RldmU=?= on December 30, 2007, 9:04 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
First, just to confirm this is not spyware/adware as the other poster
mentions here. It is caused by a Flash advert which redirects when displayed.
It was reported to MLB.com at least five days ago yet nothing has been done
about it!!

"Paul" wrote:

>
> I have a problem. It may well be related to malware or maybe not.
> Every time I click onto MLB.COM web site: http://mlb.mlb.com/index.jsp I get
> referred to the following site.
>
> http://www.hqtube.com/?5519000000
>
> HQTUBE - World of streaming porn!.
>
> The address given in Page Info:
>
>
http://ad.doubleclick.net/adi/mlb.mlb/homepage;;pos=1;sz=300x250;tile=1;ord=879088147
>
> This may well be some sort of malware or a new marketing ploy by MLB.
>
> It happens in all browsers. Only on the front page. Others are ok.
> I need advice on how to get rid of this problem.
>
> I have contacted MLB customer folks. They have referred it!
> Can anyone help?
>
> Thanks.
>
> Paul.
>

Similar ThreadsPosted
Need site for malware submissions August 28, 2007, 2:25 pm
Virus/ CoreFlood/ Asp.Net/ other? Affecting XP HE Op Sys March 27, 2006, 5:00 am
HELP!! Virus affecting installing security-related programs? October 22, 2006, 10:07 pm
Two arrested suspected of Zotob August 26, 2005, 6:21 pm
Suspected virus in C:\Windows\Temp area January 9, 2008, 5:52 pm
Suspected virus causing windows temp to fill up January 30, 2008, 4:07 pm
building a web site January 26, 2006, 8:31 pm
Does anyone know how to see if NTLM is running on a web site? December 16, 2005, 10:04 am
Does anyone know how to see if NTLM is running on a web site? December 16, 2005, 10:04 am
Is Zone Labs site down? December 22, 2006, 3:45 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy