Can't stop a Zombie EMailer

Can't stop a Zombie EMailer

Secure Home | Search | About
 Microsoft Antivirus Discussions    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Can't stop a Zombie EMailer JP 08-29-2007
Posted by =?Utf-8?B?Qm9hdGVyRGF2ZQ==?= on September 2, 2007, 5:54 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Few things irritate me, Fitz.

You state: "However, you do MVPs a disservice when you imply that they are
dishonest".

I did NOT imply that MVP's are dishonest. What I did say was that there is,
IMO, absolutely no way of knowing, for certain, that those giving help and
advice on the MS groups are 'good guys'.

I very much appreciate all the help and advice which I've received. I'm sure
that thousands of others, too, are most grateful for the efforts made by
those with a desire to help.

Having said that, I re-iterate that I believe that 'bad guys' *might* be
operating here too. How can anyone know for sure - if no-one is responsible
for checking each and every link on each site and when it is so very easy to
'pretend' to be someone else?

FWIW

Dave
***************************************

"---Fitz---" wrote:

> >
> >> Sorry Dave...you're still off topic for this newsgroup. This is a
> >> newsgroup
> >> for discussions about VIRUS.
> >
> > I am fully aware that I'm not following 'the rules' Fitz - but it is in a
> > good cause, I assure you. :)
> >
> > I'd also bet that at least 99% of 'visitors' to the Microsoft newsgroups,
> > this one included, will click on a link provided by another poster
> > (helper) rather than copying and pasting into their browser. It appears to
> > me (and I suppose I may be wrong) that no-one from Microsoft itself
> > actually monitors/polices the groups. No-one is responsible for checking
> > that each and every link takes one to the 'right' destination.
> >
> > Perhaps you have never even considered the possibility that some posters
> > here may not be honest, law abiding, citizens Even those wearing the MVP
> > badge.
> >
> > There really is no way of knowing ................ is there? ;)
> >
> > Dave
> >
>
> What is the "good cause" when you take away from others who seek help in
> this newsgroup about a VIRUS when you're talking about who checks the links,
> etc.? You're dealing with STRANGERS. Why WOULD you think they would be
> "honest, law abiding, citizens" and trust them? You don't do it face to
> face...why here? However, you do MVPs a disservice when you imply that they
> are dishonest. The original OP requested info about Zombie email. This has
> nothing to do with that. Even though the OP seems new at this (he prefaced
> his post with "I am assuming I am on the right Group." (good netiquette), he
> wanted "suggestions" for solving his problem. You're still in the wrong
> group for social networking.
>
>

Posted by BoaterDave on September 2, 2007, 10:09 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Hi. When I check the 'Properties' of my previous post here, I find:-

NNTP-Posting-Host: tk2msftsbfm01.phx.gbl 10.40.244.148

I'm quite certain that this will be different to what will show in the
message Properties of *this* message I'm now posting.

DNSStuff.com advises:-

Answer:
No PTR records exist for 10.40.244.148. [Neg TTL=604800 seconds]

Details:
blackhole-2.iana.org. (an authoritative nameserver for 10.in-addr.arpa.,
which is in charge of the reverse DNS for 10.40.244.148)
says that there are no PTR records for 10.40.244.148.

To get reverse DNS set up for 10.40.244.148, you need to speak to your
Internet provider. You could also
check with hostmaster@root-servers.org., who is in charge of the
10.in-addr.arpa. zone.

*** Note that all Internet accessible hosts are expected to have a reverse
DNS entry (per RFC1912 2.1), ***

**********************************************************

Can anyone tell me the reason for this? TIA

Dave

PS If it helps, I'll confirm that the message in question was NOT posted
using OE6

**********************************************************



Posted by on September 3, 2007, 11:05 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Too posting deliberately! :)

Surely *someone* knows the answer to this query. ???

BD

***************************************************************************


> Hi. When I check the 'Properties' of my previous post here, I find:-
>
> NNTP-Posting-Host: tk2msftsbfm01.phx.gbl 10.40.244.148
>
> I'm quite certain that this will be different to what will show in the
> message Properties of *this* message I'm now posting.
>
> DNSStuff.com advises:-
>
> Answer:
> No PTR records exist for 10.40.244.148. [Neg TTL=604800 seconds]
>
> Details:
> blackhole-2.iana.org. (an authoritative nameserver for 10.in-addr.arpa.,
> which is in charge of the reverse DNS for 10.40.244.148)
> says that there are no PTR records for 10.40.244.148.
>
> To get reverse DNS set up for 10.40.244.148, you need to speak to your
> Internet provider. You could also
> check with hostmas...@root-servers.org., who is in charge of the
> 10.in-addr.arpa. zone.
>
> *** Note that all Internet accessible hosts are expected to have a reverse
> DNS entry (per RFC1912 2.1), ***
>
> **********************************************************
>
> Can anyone tell me the reason for this? TIA
>
> Dave
>
> PS If it helps, I'll confirm that the message in question was NOT posted
> using OE6
>
> **********************************************************



Posted by Heather on September 3, 2007, 12:12 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Frankly, BD.....no one gives a sh*t, OK?? Now stop bugging the heck out
of the security people on this news group.......and stop morphing into
other names. I will killfile this one as well.

You are so incredibly B-O-R-I-N-G!!!!! And obviously can't read well
enough to see the words "security and virus". DUH!!


> Too posting deliberately! :)
>
> Surely *someone* knows the answer to this query. ???
>
> BD
>
> ***************************************************************************
>
>
>> Hi. When I check the 'Properties' of my previous post here, I find:-
>>
>> NNTP-Posting-Host: tk2msftsbfm01.phx.gbl 10.40.244.148
>>
>> I'm quite certain that this will be different to what will show in
>> the
>> message Properties of *this* message I'm now posting.
>>
>> DNSStuff.com advises:-
>>
>> Answer:
>> No PTR records exist for 10.40.244.148. [Neg TTL=604800 seconds]
>>
>> Details:
>> blackhole-2.iana.org. (an authoritative nameserver for
>> 10.in-addr.arpa.,
>> which is in charge of the reverse DNS for 10.40.244.148)
>> says that there are no PTR records for 10.40.244.148.
>>
>> To get reverse DNS set up for 10.40.244.148, you need to speak to
>> your
>> Internet provider. You could also
>> check with hostmas...@root-servers.org., who is in charge of the
>> 10.in-addr.arpa. zone.
>>
>> *** Note that all Internet accessible hosts are expected to have a
>> reverse
>> DNS entry (per RFC1912 2.1), ***
>>
>> **********************************************************
>>
>> Can anyone tell me the reason for this? TIA
>>
>> Dave
>>
>> PS If it helps, I'll confirm that the message in question was NOT
>> posted
>> using OE6
>>
>> **********************************************************
>
>



Posted by Dustin Cook on September 3, 2007, 3:21 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

> Frankly, BD.....no one gives a sh*t, OK?? Now stop bugging the heck
> out of the security people on this news group.......and stop morphing
> into other names. I will killfile this one as well.

Hi Heather! Hows things?


--
Dustin Cook, Author of BugHunter - MalWare Removal Tool - v2.2d
Email.: bughunter.dustin@gmail.com
Web...: http://bughunter.it-mate.co.uk
Pad...: http://bughunter.it-mate.co.uk/pad.xml
PGP...: http://bughunter.it-mate.co.uk/bughunter.dustin.txt

Similar ThreadsPosted
Stop error March 13, 2006, 3:59 am
how do i stop theese popups September 9, 2005, 2:59 am
Univers.exe and dingping.exe services won't stop August 6, 2005, 3:52 pm
W32.Sober-how do I stop getting infected emails? December 5, 2005, 5:39 pm
STOP what you’re doing - It doesn’t work! 900D July 28, 2006, 7:10 pm
Stop baby eating in CHINA January 29, 2008, 10:35 am
Stop Error 0x8e Mult. Machines July 11, 2005, 9:31 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy