oxid.it insecure?

oxid.it insecure?

Secure Home | Search | About

General Computer Security - General computer security discussions 

Bookmark this page:  YahooMyWeb Yahoo!  Google Google  Windows Live Favorites Windows Live  del.icio.us del.icio.us  digg digg  Add to Netscape Netscape
Subject Author Date
oxid.it insecure? Keme 10-08-2006
---> Re: oxid.it insecure? Sebastian Gotts...10-08-2006
Posted by Keme on October 8, 2006, 6:25 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
I did a google search on security concerning Remote Desktop, and one of
the hits was a pdf from oxid.it. When clicking on it I got a "google
warning message" that content from this source could harm my computer.

Is there any record of this site having intrusive web content, or is the
warning simply based on the fact that some of the advice/procedures
given dig deep into security issues, to the extent that you may harm
your own security if you don't know what you're doing?

Could there be other reasons for Google to warn about this site?
(Authentic warning, or ulterior motives for warning?)

I have used some info and software from oxid.it, and have not
experienced any objectionable or undocumented features. Did I miss
something?

Posted by Sebastian Gottschalk on October 8, 2006, 6:34 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Keme wrote:

> I did a google search on security concerning Remote Desktop, and one of
> the hits was a pdf from oxid.it. When clicking on it I got a "google
> warning message" that content from this source could harm my computer.
>
> Is there any record of this site having intrusive web content, or is the
> warning simply based on the fact that some of the advice/procedures
> given dig deep into security issues, to the extent that you may harm
> your own security if you don't know what you're doing?

I don't get any such message. BTW, on which website at which position does
such a message appear for you? What is the exact message?

> Could there be other reasons for Google to warn about this site?
> (Authentic warning, or ulterior motives for warning?)

Not for this one.

> I have used some info and software from oxid.it, and have not
> experienced any objectionable or undocumented features. Did I miss
> something?

Hm... if your webbrowser is as outdated as your version of Mozilla
Thunderbird, such a warning might be reasonably placed.

Posted by mak on October 9, 2006, 4:49 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Sebastian Gottschalk wrote:
> Keme wrote:
>
>> I did a google search on security concerning Remote Desktop, and one of
>> the hits was a pdf from oxid.it. When clicking on it I got a "google
>> warning message" that content from this source could harm my computer.
>>
>> Is there any record of this site having intrusive web content, or is the
>> warning simply based on the fact that some of the advice/procedures
>> given dig deep into security issues, to the extent that you may harm
>> your own security if you don't know what you're doing?
>
> I don't get any such message. BTW, on which website at which position does
> such a message appear for you? What is the exact message?

search for oxid.it pdf
first hit:

http://www.google.at/interstitial?url=http://www.oxid.it/downloads/rdp-gbu.pdf#search=%22oxid.it%20pdf%22

what's next, search for "adobe reader" and google tells you to ABSOLUTELY click
on this link, 'cause these guys deliver
quality product?

I am not sure what to think of this...

M

Posted by Sebastian Gottschalk on October 9, 2006, 5:07 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
mak wrote:

>> I don't get any such message. BTW, on which website at which position does
>> such a message appear for you? What is the exact message?
>
> search for oxid.it pdf
> first hit:
>
>
http://www.google.at/interstitial?url=http://www.oxid.it/downloads/rdp-gbu.pdf#search=%22oxid.it%20pdf%22
>
> what's next, search for "adobe reader" and google tells you to ABSOLUTELY
click on this link, 'cause these guys deliver
> quality product?

OK, now I get a warning too. Sorry, I searched on google.com with safe=off
for "pdf site:oxid.it", and I got no warning.

Well, it's just the stupid badware warning. Ignore it. As long as Google
doesn't add its very own toolbar download to the list, they can't be
serious.

Posted by Keme on October 9, 2006, 9:45 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Sebastian Gottschalk wrote:
> mak wrote:
>
>
>>>I don't get any such message. BTW, on which website at which position does
>>>such a message appear for you? What is the exact message?
>>
>>search for oxid.it pdf
>>first hit:
>>
>>http://www.google.at/interstitial?url=http://www.oxid.it/downloads/rdp-gbu.pdf#search=%22oxid.it%20pdf%22
>>
>>what's next, search for "adobe reader" and google tells you to ABSOLUTELY
click on this link, 'cause these guys deliver
>>quality product?
>
>
> OK, now I get a warning too. Sorry, I searched on google.com with safe=off
> for "pdf site:oxid.it", and I got no warning.
>
> Well, it's just the stupid badware warning. Ignore it. As long as Google
> doesn't add its very own toolbar download to the list, they can't be
> serious.

My thougths exactly. Just felt I needed a second opinion this time.
Thanks to both of you.

Similar ThreadsPosted
Truecrypt supposed to be insecure. Authors fled November 21, 2005, 8:00 am
Windows Vista still Rife with Insecure Code July 18, 2006, 10:49 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy