phishing with google ?

phishing with google ?

Secure Home | Search | About
 General Computer Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
phishing with google ? mak 09-25-2006
Posted by mak on September 25, 2006, 2:38 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
hi,
got a phishing mail today, very easy to recognize,
but the link that you are supposed to click and "renew your paypal account,
because it expired "
is the following:

http://www.google.com/pagead/iclk?sa=l&ai=Br3ycNQz5Q-fXBJGSiQLU0eDSAueHkArnhtWZAu-FmQWgjlkQAxgFKAg4AEDKEUiFOVD-4r2f-P____8BoAGyqor_A8gBAZUCCapCCqkCxU7NLQH0sz4&num=5&adurl=http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php"

so 2 questions:
what happens when people click the link as far as google "pagead"
why can a browser read http://1037997238:9999 or how do you convert that into an
ipaddress?

cheers,
M

Posted by Sebastian Gottschalk on September 25, 2006, 2:49 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
mak wrote:

> hi, got a phishing mail today, very easy to recognize, but the link that
> you are supposed to click and "renew your paypal account, because it
> expired " is the following:
>
>
<http://www.google.com/pagead/iclk?sa=l&ai=Br3ycNQz5Q-fXBJGSiQLU0eDSAueHkArnhtWZAu-FmQWgjlkQAxgFKAg4AEDKEUiFOVD-4r2f-P____8BoAGyqor_A8gBAZUCCapCCqkCxU7NLQH0sz4&num=5&adurl=http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php>
>
>
> so 2 questions: what happens when people click the link as far as google
> "pagead"

The website is opened?

> why can a browser read http://1037997238:9999

Because many webbbrowser utilize standardized string conversion functions
from LibC, which also process some unwanted formats. Yes, this is a
problem.

->

<http://0x43.0x9e.0x87.0xa9/images/macromedia/Configuration/WebServices/index.html>

> or how do you convert that into an ipaddress?

It's the decimal expression of an unsigned 32 bit integer. IP (v4)
addresses are 32 bit fields. Trivial.

Posted by mak on September 25, 2006, 3:59 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Sebastian Gottschalk wrote:
> mak wrote:
>
>> hi, got a phishing mail today, very easy to recognize, but the link that
>> you are supposed to click and "renew your paypal account, because it
>> expired " is the following:
>>
>>
<http://www.google.com/pagead/iclk?sa=l&ai=Br3ycNQz5Q-fXBJGSiQLU0eDSAueHkArnhtWZAu-FmQWgjlkQAxgFKAg4AEDKEUiFOVD-4r2f-P____8BoAGyqor_A8gBAZUCCapCCqkCxU7NLQH0sz4&num=5&adurl=http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php>
>>
>>
>> so 2 questions: what happens when people click the link as far as google
>> "pagead"
>
> The website is opened?

yes, but obviously there is some sort of redirect, what is this "pagead"
business?
why would the spammer not just use the
"http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php" link ?

?
mak
>> why can a browser read http://1037997238:9999
>
> Because many webbbrowser utilize standardized string conversion functions
> from LibC, which also process some unwanted formats. Yes, this is a
> problem.
>
> ->
>
>
<http://0x43.0x9e.0x87.0xa9/images/macromedia/Configuration/WebServices/index.html>
>
>> or how do you convert that into an ipaddress?
>
> It's the decimal expression of an unsigned 32 bit integer. IP (v4)
> addresses are 32 bit fields. Trivial.


Posted by Sebastian Gottschalk on September 25, 2006, 4:10 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
mak wrote:

> yes, but obviously there is some sort of redirect, what is this "pagead"
business?

The website advertisement business from Google Inc.? What else?

> why would the spammer not just use the
"http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php" link ?

1. to obfuscate the real link target
2. to possibly spoof the browser's address bar for a short time, depending
on slow GUI reaction

Posted by Barry Margolin on September 26, 2006, 12:53 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

> mak wrote:
>
> > yes, but obviously there is some sort of redirect, what is this "pagead"
> > business?
>
> The website advertisement business from Google Inc.? What else?
>
> > why would the spammer not just use the
> > "http://1037997238:9999/webscrr/index.php" link ?
>
> 1. to obfuscate the real link target
> 2. to possibly spoof the browser's address bar for a short time, depending
> on slow GUI reaction

Or when the user hovers his mouse over the link in the mail, he'll see a
Google URL. Since he uses Google all the time, he trusts them, and
won't be suspicious of the link.

--
Barry Margolin, barmar@alum.mit.edu
Arlington, MA
*** PLEASE post questions in newsgroups, not directly to me ***
*** PLEASE don't copy me on replies, I'll read them in the group ***

Similar ThreadsPosted
Google Closes Security Holes in Google Base Security November 21, 2005, 5:37 pm
Very organized phishing, DNS October 19, 2006, 10:39 pm
Top in Google November 22, 2005, 10:41 am
Phishing for Godaddy Password. May 5, 2005, 10:16 pm
And just when we thought the IRS Phishing Scams were over ........ July 1, 2006, 12:33 pm
"New Universal Man-in-the-Middle Phishing Kit" ? January 17, 2007, 6:58 am
How to understand this "phishing" mail? March 15, 2007, 8:45 pm
Phishing versus phlishing May 8, 2007, 5:47 am
Yahoo mail -- Virus? Phishing? December 16, 2004, 9:49 pm
Wells Fargo Phishing Scam January 22, 2006, 10:22 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy