Possible infection by malware?

Possible infection by malware?

Secure Home | Search | About
 General Computer Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Possible infection by malware? Peter James 06-05-2005
Posted by Peter James on June 5, 2005, 5:41 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
The Proxomitron reports that it has blocked the following addresses.
Using "whois" I came up with the following:

Abovenet Communications, Inc ABOVENET-6 (NET-208-184-0-0-1)
208.184.0.0 - 208.185.255.255
EZULA/KABANGA MFN-B423-208-185-211-64-27 (NET-208-185-211-64-1)
208.185.211.64 - 208.185.211.95

United Layer, Inc. UNITEDLAYER-1 (NET-209-237-224-0-1)
209.237.224.0 - 209.237.255.255
Alexa Internet ALEXA-INTERNET (NET-209-237-237-0-1)
209.237.237.0 - 209.237.238.255

Would this show an infection or trojan? I've run a scan using AdAware
and Spyblaster and neither show any spyware present, yet Proxomitorn
keeps stopping access to these sites. Anyone got any suggestions?

-
Peter James
Remove AT to reply


Posted by Moe Trin on June 6, 2005, 11:27 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
In the Usenet newsgroup comp.security.misc, in article

>The Proxomitron reports that it has blocked the following addresses.

Why is software that you installed trying to connect to those addresses?

>Using "whois" I came up with the following:
>
>Abovenet Communications, Inc ABOVENET-6 (NET-208-184-0-0-1)
> 208.184.0.0 - 208.185.255.255
>EZULA/KABANGA MFN-B423-208-185-211-64-27 (NET-208-185-211-64-1)
> 208.185.211.64 - 208.185.211.95
>
>United Layer, Inc. UNITEDLAYER-1 (NET-209-237-224-0-1)
> 209.237.224.0 - 209.237.255.255
>Alexa Internet ALEXA-INTERNET (NET-209-237-237-0-1)
> 209.237.237.0 - 209.237.238.255
>
>Would this show an infection or trojan?

Someone with the handle of "Yosponge" posts a list of sites and addresses
to be concerned with. See the Usenet newsgroup 'alt.privacy.spyware' and
http://www.geocities.com/yosponge/blockips.txt. The 208.185.211.64/27
and 209.237.237.0/23 address ranges show up on the lists.

>I've run a scan using AdAware and Spyblaster and neither show any spyware
>present, yet Proxomitorn keeps stopping access to these sites.

One would normally ask why you installed whatever software it is that
contains this malware, but it's your computer, not mine. Some software
you thought was interesting, or that some web site offered to install
for you is (as usual) infected. Happens all the time, which is why there
is a huge market for anti-malware products.

>Anyone got any suggestions?

alt.privacy.spyware

Old guy


Similar ThreadsPosted
Persistent ADware Infection January 18, 2005, 5:01 pm
MySpace Shuts Down User Profiles Due To Worm Infection December 7, 2006, 1:43 pm
How to get rid of this malware? December 22, 2008, 10:06 am
Unwanted Malware October 8, 2005, 5:27 pm
Weird Malware December 22, 2005, 2:34 pm
Malware\spyware Infestation April 28, 2005, 11:23 am
Getting rid of malware screen theme July 30, 2005, 6:01 pm
Malware Test Lab - BitDefender January 26, 2007, 12:30 pm
Bin Laden Capture Used as a Lure for Malware August 22, 2006, 9:01 am
Re: OT: Myth # 13: Macs Are Safe From Malware Attacks May 27, 2007, 6:51 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy