Virus

Virus "link" in e-mail?

Secure Home | Search | About

Anti-Virus Software - Computer security - anti-virus software 

Bookmark this page:  YahooMyWeb Yahoo!  Google Google  Windows Live Favorites Windows Live  del.icio.us del.icio.us  digg digg  Add to Netscape Netscape
Subject Author Date
Virus "link" in e-mail? Sanjaya 04-24-2006
Posted by Sanjaya on April 24, 2006, 5:12 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
A the son of a friend of mine had his computer majorly screwed with when
he clicked a seemingly innocuous link in a spoofed email.

Holding the cursor over the email link shows this is the status bar
javascript:dl('http://www.***search.net/test');

I have substituted asterisks for 3 letters in the fake link.
The email shows what appears to be a real link to
http://www.***search.net/test
but a right click/"copy link" gives the result showing javascript
(that is a paste of what actually copied)

I don't know how to explain it to them properly.
Any suggestions?

The missing letters are a 3 letter word for feline if anyone's interested.



Posted by Adam Piggott on April 24, 2006, 6:38 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Sanjaya wrote:
> A the son of a friend of mine had his computer majorly screwed with when
> he clicked a seemingly innocuous link in a spoofed email.
>
> Holding the cursor over the email link shows this is the status bar
> javascript:dl('http://www.***search.net/test');
>
> I have substituted asterisks for 3 letters in the fake link.
> The email shows what appears to be a real link to
> http://www.***search.net/test
> but a right click/"copy link" gives the result showing javascript
> (that is a paste of what actually copied)
>
> I don't know how to explain it to them properly.
> Any suggestions?
>
> The missing letters are a 3 letter word for feline if anyone's interested.

Well looking at a Google search of the web address it rings some alarm
bells; "adult" sites often serve up viruses, spyware or computer exploits.

What has probably happened is that their email client was told to download
a malicious program from a web site at the above address. It may have
required a user to click on the link or could have had code inside the
email which triggered it.

They should use a more secure email program (Thunderbird has a good track
record so far), should *never* read email in HTML mode and absolutely must
keep their operating system up-to-date with the latest security updates.

HTH

Adam Piggott, Proprietor, Proactive Services (Computing).
http://www.proactiveservices.co.uk/

Please replace dot invalid with dot uk to email me.
Apply personally for PGP public key.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.2.2 (MingW32)

iD8DBQFETVNV7uRVdtPsXDkRAsASAJ9fF/Ra+tmYOibsPZuHZc1JYejpSQCglAro
/c/rEdswDpHvNUdqPLIb8mQ=
=0bVz
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

Posted by Sanjaya on April 24, 2006, 6:42 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
>
> Sanjaya wrote:
> > A the son of a friend of mine had his computer majorly screwed with when
> > he clicked a seemingly innocuous link in a spoofed email.
> >
> > Holding the cursor over the email link shows this is the status bar
> > javascript:dl('http://www.***search.net/test');
> >
> > I have substituted asterisks for 3 letters in the fake link.
> > The email shows what appears to be a real link to
> > http://www.***search.net/test
> > but a right click/"copy link" gives the result showing javascript
> > (that is a paste of what actually copied)
> >
> > I don't know how to explain it to them properly.
> > Any suggestions?
> >
> > The missing letters are a 3 letter word for feline if anyone's interested.
>
> Well looking at a Google search of the web address it rings some alarm
> bells; "adult" sites often serve up viruses, spyware or computer exploits.
>
> What has probably happened is that their email client was told to download
> a malicious program from a web site at the above address. It may have
> required a user to click on the link or could have had code inside the
> email which triggered it.
>
> They should use a more secure email program (Thunderbird has a good track
> record so far), should *never* read email in HTML mode and absolutely must
> keep their operating system up-to-date with the latest security updates.
>


Thanks.



Similar ThreadsPosted
Sorry Just get link June 6, 2006, 3:30 am
Link August 22, 2006, 6:04 am
AVG Link Scanner? April 30, 2009, 2:57 am
AVG email scanner hangs/continues to scan endlessly after email download November 10, 2006, 10:21 am
McAfee Email Proxy error with Eudora Email-crash! August 10, 2006, 4:18 pm
Haven't seen a Zlob link for a few weeks January 19, 2007, 10:47 pm
Microsoft Security Essentials - download link June 23, 2009, 2:16 pm
Kaspersky AVP- request for update file download link ... October 29, 2005, 10:40 pm
Nice Microsoft link to sysinternals tools and more (no signin req) March 23, 2007, 8:58 am
Venak and Avenak Trial Version Link (MPS Edition) January 10, 2008, 3:15 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy