Re: help help desperate will pay my site leatherjackets.com is hacked

Re: help help desperate will pay my site leatherjackets.com is hacked

Secure Home | Search | About
 Computer Software Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Re: help help desperate will pay my site leatherjackets.com is hacked Vanguard 08-27-2007
Posted by Vanguard on August 27, 2007, 4:35 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
"Jim Watt" wrote in message
>
> walnut101@yahoo.com wrote:
>>help help desperate will pay my site leatherjackets.com is hacked,
>>need advise please email to walnut101@yahoo.com or call me at
>>909-4x6-xxx1

Yeah, right, like anyone is going to bother to e-mail or call you. If
you have the time to post here, you have the time to return here.

> Contact whoever hosts it.

Looks like that would be multacom.com. A traceroute on
leatherjackets.com shows it ends at a static IP address at that
domain. The upstream host is also on that domain. An IP WhoIs on
208.64.229.182 (leatherjackets.com) shows the IP address is owned by
multacom. Guess walnutty will have to have contact multacom.


Posted by Jim Watt on August 27, 2007, 3:19 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
wrote:

>Yeah, right, like anyone is going to bother to e-mail or call you.

Well, there was the enticement of money, however
a litte bit of research shows the phone number
given belongs to

http://www.techwave.com
e-commerce solutions

"Trusted by over 700 customers....... "

So I rather doubt anyone with a clue would post
messages like that to a newsgroup like this.

The original domain registrant is
B.L.K. International, Inc.
814 San Fernando Rd.
Los Angeles, California 90065

Which is the address shown on the website which
seems to be working normally.

The OP was from
c-66-41-211-131.hsd1.mn.comcast.net
via giganews

Which is probably a home ADSl account.

The email given belongs to
ABChelpdesk
269 Pacific St.
Pomana , Ca 91789

http://www.abchelpdesk.com

So it has all the makings of a bit of troublemaking
and time wasting.

PLONK.
--
Jim Watt
http://www.gibnet.com

Posted by Vanguard on August 27, 2007, 6:14 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
"Jim Watt" wrote in message
> a litte bit of research shows the phone number
> given belongs to
>
> http://www.techwave.com
> e-commerce solutions
>
> "Trusted by over 700 customers....... "
>
> So I rather doubt anyone with a clue would post
> messages like that to a newsgroup like this.


You'd be surprised how many self-professed techs and experts come to
Usenet not for themselves but to get help on basic stuff so they don't
look like idiots to their customers who have mistakeningly trusted
them. This guy probably thinks he is a web designer or web admin and
needs to cover his butt when more is required beyond editing HTML
pages and config files.


Posted by Jim Watt on August 27, 2007, 6:39 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
wrote:

>You'd be surprised how many self-professed techs and experts come to
>Usenet not for themselves but to get help on basic stuff so they don't
>look like idiots to their customers who have mistakeningly trusted
>them. This guy probably thinks he is a web designer or web admin and
>needs to cover his butt when more is required beyond editing HTML
>pages and config files.

Indeed its a good way to find answers to certain questions,
that not being one.

Howeverm the contact details are inconsistent, and I doubt
a successful shopping cart vendor would post a message like
that here and to alt.hacking

--
Jim Watt
http://www.gibnet.com

Posted by Moe Trin on August 28, 2007, 3:27 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
On Mon, 27 Aug 2007, in the Usenet newsgroup alt.computer.security, in article

>a litte bit of research shows the phone number given belongs to
>
>http://www.techwave.com
>e-commerce solutions
>
>"Trusted by over 700 customers....... "

and the NEVER have appeared in news.admin.net-abuse.sightings

>So I rather doubt anyone with a clue would post
>messages like that to a newsgroup like this.

Well...

>The original domain registrant is
>B.L.K. International, Inc.
>814 San Fernando Rd.
>Los Angeles, California 90065

out by the Glendale Freeway

>The OP was from
>c-66-41-211-131.hsd1.mn.comcast.net

66.41.0.0 - 66.41.255.255 Comcast MINNESOTA-7

Yeah, that's right around the corner

>The email given belongs to
>ABChelpdesk
>269 Pacific St.
>Pomana , Ca 91789

which is the East end of the county on Interstate 10 - about 50 KM if you
can fly, a bit more if you have to take the freeways (Golden State, to
San Bernardino - maybe 55 KM) - like I say, right around the corner.

>So it has all the makings of a bit of troublemaking

Saw that yesterday as soon as I did a whois on the IP address. That /21
has been on the blocklist here for quite some time for spamming.

Old guy

Similar ThreadsPosted
Desperate for Help on security patent. May 20, 2007, 9:43 pm
Guidance hacked December 22, 2005, 8:59 am
our website was hacked !!! March 6, 2007, 5:09 pm
Windows Vista hacked May 21, 2007, 6:51 am
win2k machine hacked with Serv-U FTP etc May 29, 2006, 11:37 pm
windows 2000 server being hacked. June 20, 2006, 8:10 am
Norton Ghost- HACKED by my coworker - What would you do? July 2, 2006, 12:29 am
Norton Ghost- HACKED by my coworker - What would you do? July 3, 2006, 1:00 pm
RFID hacked again and vendor says it's as safe as anything in our wallet! July 24, 2006, 9:52 am
Hacking site! July 14, 2005, 12:14 pm

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy