|
Posted by Unruh on April 21, 2007, 10:00 pm
If you were Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
>Did google and wiki, but to no avail. Here is the mail header:
>X-Apparently-To: joe-dow@yahoo.com via 68.142.200.157; Wed, 18 Apr
>2007 08:14:53 -0700
>X-Originating-IP: [68.142.229.215]
>Authentication-Results: mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com from=paypal.org;
>domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
>Received: from 68.142.229.215 (HELO smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com)
>(68.142.229.215)
> by mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 18 Apr 2007 08:14:53
>-0700
>Received: (qmail 17882 invoked from network); 18 Apr 2007 15:14:50
>-0000
>Received: from unknown (HELO User) (6@smtppentrucarti.com@1.1.1.1 with
>login)
> by smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; 18 Apr 2007 15:14:49
>-0000
Cleary a forged From.
so smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com received a forged email from who knows
where. Which was then sent by smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com to
mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com . Of course smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com could
also be forged.
>X-YMail-OSG:
>nC.yNt4VM1mMebNtCCYQLIsjK04pueXMPuwfq0i4nw1uGxBsEwOj9k4QAfYGyqtrYowydowJpIxkucBHCfD0Xa58gdnTwNHCbJo-
>======
>Is the following an accurate interpretation of the mail header? Any
>comments/teaching are appreciated.
>This e-mail was sent by a user called "unknown", who logged on to a
>mail server, (6@smtpmysteryous.com), using a device which IP address
>was 1.1.1.1. to the mail receipient, joe-dow@yahoo.com. The e-mail
>was routed through a qmail server then onto
No that is not accurate because that information is untrustworthy.
>smtp101.biz.mail.re2.yahoo.com, then to mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com.
Maybe. That could also be forged.
>The authentication of the sender by mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com was
>unable to validate as the domainkeys=neutral (no sig.)
>Is this an accurate interpretation? Any comments are appreciated.
>By the way, Is 6@smtpmysteryous.com@ a server? domain name? or else?
>Any info?
Garbage.
>Also how I can find out the physical location of
>mta228.mail.re2.yahoo.com, smtp101.biz.mail.rec.yahoo.com, and also
>6@smtpmysteryous.com@? Are they in Asia, Africa or Australia?
the last does not exist. The middle is owned by yahoo, if you believe the
address, but who knows where it is located. Ask Yahoo. The last you
probably know.
|