Banned URL

Banned URL

Secure Home | Search | About
 Computer Software Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Banned URL Matt Silberstein 10-26-2005
| ---> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-26-2005
|   `--> Re: Banned URL Michael Thompso...10-27-2005
---> Re: Banned URL Hairy One Kenob...10-28-2005
  |--> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-28-2005
  ---> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-28-2005
  | ---> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-30-2005
  | |   ---> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-30-2005
  | |     |--> Re: Banned URL Hairy One Kenob...10-30-2005
  | `--> Re: Banned URL Hairy One Kenob...10-29-2005
  |--> Re: Banned URL Matt Silberstei...10-29-2005
Posted by Matt Silberstein on October 26, 2005, 7:31 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
I just sent an email to someone with the sig you see below. The second
URL, www.darfurgenocide.org, is banned by AOL. My first reaction was
that there was something political involved. But it is probably
because of someone else on their network. I know that the answer is
no, but is there some way to check this? (And what am I doing asking
question for which I know the answer? Because I could easily be wrong.
Or, to put that better, I am wrong, but I don't always know what I am
wrong about.)



--
Matt Silberstein

Do something today about the Darfur Genocide

Genocide is news | Be A Witness
http://www.beawitness.org

"Darfur: A Genocide We can Stop"
www.darfurgenocide.org

Save Darfur.org :: Violence and Suffering in Sudan's Darfur Region
http://www.savedarfur.org/


Posted by Notan on October 26, 2005, 1:43 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Matt Silberstein wrote:
>
> I just sent an email to someone with the sig you see below. The second
> URL, www.darfurgenocide.org, is banned by AOL. My first reaction was
> that there was something political involved. But it is probably
> because of someone else on their network. I know that the answer is
> no, but is there some way to check this? (And what am I doing asking
> question for which I know the answer? Because I could easily be wrong.
> Or, to put that better, I am wrong, but I don't always know what I am
> wrong about.)

I'm a bit unclear as to what the question is.

If it's, "Can anyone else get to this URL?," the answer is "yes."

If it's not, care to elaborate?

Notan


Posted by Matt Silberstein on October 26, 2005, 8:21 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
On Wed, 26 Oct 2005 13:43:59 -0600, in alt.computer.security , Notan

>Matt Silberstein wrote:
>>
>> I just sent an email to someone with the sig you see below. The second
>> URL, www.darfurgenocide.org, is banned by AOL. My first reaction was
>> that there was something political involved. But it is probably
>> because of someone else on their network. I know that the answer is
>> no, but is there some way to check this? (And what am I doing asking
>> question for which I know the answer? Because I could easily be wrong.
>> Or, to put that better, I am wrong, but I don't always know what I am
>> wrong about.)
>
>I'm a bit unclear as to what the question is.
>
>If it's, "Can anyone else get to this URL?," the answer is "yes."
>
>If it's not, care to elaborate?
>
Sorry. My point was how can I find out why this is on some banned
list?

--
Matt Silberstein

Do something today about the Darfur Genocide

Genocide is news | Be A Witness
http://www.beawitness.org

"Darfur: A Genocide We can Stop"
www.darfurgenocide.org

Save Darfur.org :: Violence and Suffering in Sudan's Darfur Region
http://www.savedarfur.org/


Posted by Notan on October 26, 2005, 5:16 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Matt Silberstein wrote:
>
> On Wed, 26 Oct 2005 13:43:59 -0600, in alt.computer.security , Notan
>
> >Matt Silberstein wrote:
> >>
> >> I just sent an email to someone with the sig you see below. The second
> >> URL, www.darfurgenocide.org, is banned by AOL. My first reaction was
> >> that there was something political involved. But it is probably
> >> because of someone else on their network. I know that the answer is
> >> no, but is there some way to check this? (And what am I doing asking
> >> question for which I know the answer? Because I could easily be wrong.
> >> Or, to put that better, I am wrong, but I don't always know what I am
> >> wrong about.)
> >
> >I'm a bit unclear as to what the question is.
> >
> >If it's, "Can anyone else get to this URL?," the answer is "yes."
> >
> >If it's not, care to elaborate?
> >
> Sorry. My point was how can I find out why this is on some banned
> list?

Personally, I think your first impression was probably correct... Political.

Notan


Posted by Michael Thompson on October 27, 2005, 2:43 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Matt Silberstein bashed at the keyboard and came up with this gem of wisdom
in alt.computer.security:


> Sorry. My point was how can I find out why this is on some banned
> list?

How about asking AOL? Duh.


Similar ThreadsPosted
BBC banned my IP July 19, 2008, 5:39 pm
Which of these netstat connections should be banned on WinXP? March 23, 2006, 2:57 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy