Akamai Technologies stealing your bandwidth?

Akamai Technologies stealing your bandwidth?

Secure Home | Search | About
 Computer Software Security    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Akamai Technologies stealing your bandwidth? Randy 06-13-2005
Posted by Randy on June 13, 2005, 7:30 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Write 'em.
Fax 'em.
Call 'em.
Hell, pay 'em a visit!
(Or just buy their domain out in 2007...
and until then, blitz Tucows with complaints
for registering their domain as well as any lame
SW vendors surreptitiously using such a "service"
to do their dirtywork.)

C'mon!
At least ASK before spoiling our "online experience"!

{Public, freely-available info via GeekTools.com ;
feel free to disperse it to other interested Usenet groups}

Checking server [whois.opensrs.net]
Results:
Registrant:
Akamai Technologies, Inc.
8 Cambridge Center
Cambridge, MA 02142
US

Domain name: AKAMAITECHNOLOGIES.COM

Administrative Contact:
Hostmaster, Akamai hostmaster-billing@akamai.com
8 Cambridge Center
Cambridge, MA 02142
US
+1.6174443000 Fax: +1.6174443001

Technical Contact:
Hostmaster, Akamai hostmaster-billing@akamai.com
8 Cambridge Center
Cambridge, MA 02142
US
+1.6174443000 Fax: +1.6174443001



Registration Service Provider:
Akamai Technologies, hostmaster@akamai.com
617-444-3000
This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords,
DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.


Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 16-Jul-2003.
Record expires on 17-Aug-2007.
Record created on 18-Aug-1998.

Domain servers in listed order:
ACCESS.AKAMAI.COM 80.67.70.18
YF.AKAMAI.COM 64.215.164.190
YG.AKAMAI.COM 63.215.198.86
YD.AKAMAI.COM 63.215.198.103
YE.AKAMAI.COM 166.90.137.21
YB.AKAMAI.COM 207.229.152.20
YC.AKAMAI.COM 209.246.46.48
YH.AKAMAI.COM 63.241.29.188


Domain status: REGISTRAR-LOCK



Posted by Vanguard on June 14, 2005, 5:17 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
<snip - unsupported rant>

All that ranting and not even a clue to the readers as to why YOU think
anyone is stealing your bandwidth. Just how are THEY stealing YOUR
bandwidth? You don't know who Akamai is or what services they provide,
do you? Or that Microsoft uses them for worldwide load-balancing of
their Windows Update service. And you're too stupid to figure out how
to configure the Automatic Updates service on your computer.

Oh, I see now. A Qwest boob posting through the Google Groups
webnews-for-dummies interface who can't figure out how to use a
newsreader to connect to an NNTP server, and we're supposed to think
this bozo understands anything about his network connections.



Posted by Chris Salter on June 14, 2005, 9:20 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Randy wrote:

> Write 'em.
> Fax 'em.
> Call 'em.
> Hell, pay 'em a visit!
> (Or just buy their domain out in 2007...
> and until then, blitz Tucows with complaints
> for registering their domain as well as any lame
> SW vendors surreptitiously using such a "service"
> to do their dirtywork.)

How on earth are they 'stealing' your bandwidth?

--
Chris Salter


Posted by Jim Watt on June 15, 2005, 12:34 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
wrote:

>How on earth are they 'stealing' your bandwidth?

black helicopters and Haarp ...

You only have to mention that and you can be
instantly abducted, hey whats that knocking
at the door? its


Posted by Jim Watt on June 14, 2005, 9:59 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

>Write 'em.
>Fax 'em.
>Call 'em.
>Hell, pay 'em a visit!

What? to thank them for the excellent service they provide ...

No problem, they get paid for it. Suggest you do a google search
on the topic in this newsgroup before posting rabid nonsense.

Its all been discussed at length before and the view is that they
are an asset rather than a liability.


--
Jim Watt
http://www.gibnet.com


Similar ThreadsPosted
Password-stealing keyloggers skyrocket November 19, 2005, 10:18 pm
Falkag and Akamai June 18, 2006, 1:36 pm
If I could afford the bandwidth this how I would post October 28, 2006, 9:59 pm
Resource for developing your own accounting software using MS technologies March 21, 2006, 10:14 pm
CFP: 2006 International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce July 13, 2006, 9:22 pm
CFP: International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce - IAWTIC08 June 3, 2008, 8:43 pm
CFP: IEEE in cooperated International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce August 10, 2005, 8:41 pm
CFP: IEEE in cooperated International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce August 11, 2005, 3:05 pm
CFP: IEEE in cooperated International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce August 11, 2005, 3:05 pm
CFP: IEEE in cooperated International Conference on Intelligent Agents, Web Technologies and Internet Commerce August 12, 2005, 10:21 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy