Avast latest version:  4.7 or 2007 ?

Avast latest version: 4.7 or 2007 ?

Secure Home | Search | About
 Anti-Virus Software    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Avast latest version: 4.7 or 2007 ? Michel S. 11-01-2006
Posted by Michel S. on November 1, 2006, 8:30 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Hi !

Entering "Avast" in a Google search reveals a couple of "sponsored
links" for Avast 2007. These links lead to sites such as
"Avast.FreedownloadPage.com" or "www.DownloadAvast.com", which have the
Avast logo and so on.

Going on the actual "www.avast.com" site, I can't find any reference to
a "2007" version, but instead to the 4.7 version (at least for home).

Are these sponsored links fake sites allowing to download a non
existing (or really mislabeled) version after one enters it's personal
information and e-mail address ?

If it's the case, don't you think Google or Alwil should do something
to have these links removed ?



Posted by Lars-Erik Østerud on November 1, 2006, 5:25 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Michel S. wrote:

> Going on the actual "www.avast.com" site, I can't find any reference to
> a "2007" version, but instead to the 4.7 version (at least for home).

I tried an update of my avast! and got this response:

Information about current update:
Total time: 5 s

- Program: Already up to date
(current version 4.7.892)
- Vps: Already up to date
(current version 0644-4)
--
Lars-Erik - http://home.chello.no/~larse/ - ICQ 7297605

Posted by Michel S. on November 1, 2006, 5:43 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Thanks,

You're confirming what I said: AFAIK there is no such thing as an
"Avast 2007" version and these "Google sponsored links" look very
suspicious.

MS

Lars-Erik Østerud avait écrit le 2006-11-01 :
> Michel S. wrote:
>
>> Going on the actual "www.avast.com" site, I can't find any reference to
>> a "2007" version, but instead to the 4.7 version (at least for home).
>
> I tried an update of my avast! and got this response:
>
> Information about current update:
> Total time: 5 s
>
> - Program: Already up to date
> (current version 4.7.892)
> - Vps: Already up to date
> (current version 0644-4)



Posted by Ze Muffinman on November 2, 2006, 5:43 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
After entering my real - but moneyless - slave Credit Card, it simply
said "Transation Declined". As I said, this is a real credit card. I
entered only what money they say the program is ($17.88) into the
account, then tried again - "Transation Declined."

Later, I saw all of the test money was gone, indictating an obvious
scam.
Michel S. wrote:
> Hi !
>
> Entering "Avast" in a Google search reveals a couple of "sponsored
> links" for Avast 2007. These links lead to sites such as
> "Avast.FreedownloadPage.com" or "www.DownloadAvast.com", which have the
> Avast logo and so on.
>
> Going on the actual "www.avast.com" site, I can't find any reference to
> a "2007" version, but instead to the 4.7 version (at least for home).
>
> Are these sponsored links fake sites allowing to download a non
> existing (or really mislabeled) version after one enters it's personal
> information and e-mail address ?
>
> If it's the case, don't you think Google or Alwil should do something
> to have these links removed ?


Posted by flamer die.spam@hotmail.com on November 2, 2006, 5:49 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

Ze Muffinman wrote:

> After entering my real - but moneyless - slave Credit Card, it simply
> said "Transation Declined". As I said, this is a real credit card. I
> entered only what money they say the program is ($17.88) into the
> account, then tried again - "Transation Declined."
>
> Later, I saw all of the test money was gone, indictating an obvious
> scam.
> Michel S. wrote:
> > Hi !
> >
> > Entering "Avast" in a Google search reveals a couple of "sponsored
> > links" for Avast 2007. These links lead to sites such as
> > "Avast.FreedownloadPage.com" or "www.DownloadAvast.com", which have the
> > Avast logo and so on.
> >
> > Going on the actual "www.avast.com" site, I can't find any reference to
> > a "2007" version, but instead to the 4.7 version (at least for home).
> >
> > Are these sponsored links fake sites allowing to download a non
> > existing (or really mislabeled) version after one enters it's personal
> > information and e-mail address ?
> >
> > If it's the case, don't you think Google or Alwil should do something
> > to have these links removed ?

Are you guys stupid? do you really think another company can offer
avast! 2007 when avast doesnt offer it itself?? you guys sound like the
type that "confirm their bank details" on a phishing site because they
"had the logo and everything"

Flamer.


Similar ThreadsPosted
What is latest version of F-Prot for DOS free version? June 28, 2006, 1:56 am
Kaspersky version personal 5.. latest March 2, 2006, 11:02 pm
Avast free version problem July 10, 2007, 6:46 pm
Settings to Avast (free version) are not persistent. August 26, 2005, 3:32 pm
Re: New version of Avira now also available as free version April 24, 2008, 11:15 pm
Re: New version of Avira now also available as free version April 25, 2008, 12:49 am
Latest update to AVG is 'effed up! November 10, 2005, 12:08 am
Latest Kav update - HUGE June 17, 2006, 9:59 am
Re: Latest AV-Cpmparative findings March 8, 2007, 6:41 pm
AVG Paid Latest Update June 21, 2008, 5:48 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy