Atari website hijak

Atari website hijak

Secure Home | Search | About
 Anti-Virus Software    Post an article   get this group's latest topics as an RSS feed add this group's latest topics to your My MSN content add this group's latest topics to your My Yahoo content add this group's latest topics to your Google content
Subject Author Date
Atari website hijak Goldenshuttle 07-18-2006
Posted by Goldenshuttle on July 18, 2006, 12:58 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
I did not expect a company like ATARI would hijack a computer. But
looks like crooks can be big heads. MY son set homepage
(www.atari.com/godzilla)...since then, I found it impossible to remove
it. I used every way in the book, but it simply shows up again...plz
give me advice.


Posted by Duh_OZ on July 18, 2006, 7:17 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Goldenshuttle wrote:
> I did not expect a company like ATARI would hijack a computer. But
> looks like crooks can be big heads. MY son set homepage
> (www.atari.com/godzilla)...since then, I found it impossible to remove
> it. I used every way in the book, but it simply shows up again...plz
> give me advice.
=========
Please list what attempts you have made so we can rule them out.

Also, have you run Adaware, Spybot, etal?

What OS? What browswer??


Posted by Noel Paton on July 18, 2006, 7:31 am
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

>I did not expect a company like ATARI would hijack a computer. But
> looks like crooks can be big heads. MY son set homepage
> (www.atari.com/godzilla)...since then, I found it impossible to remove
> it. I used every way in the book, but it simply shows up again...plz
> give me advice.
>

What OS?
What browser?
What AV do you have installed?
Are you running Spybot S&D's Teatimer or SDHelper utilities?

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's


Posted by Goldenshuttle on July 22, 2006, 1:00 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
My OS in WINXP PRO, I am using spybot kill & destroy.+ ZONE ALARM + AVG
antivirus.
I scanned computer with these 3 packages and nothing came up....., and
changed homepage from IE-Tools-internet options....but as I hit
homepage, this ATARI comes again like you did nothing.....
what a mess...

plz guys advise me...thanks


Noel Paton wrote:
> >I did not expect a company like ATARI would hijack a computer. But
> > looks like crooks can be big heads. MY son set homepage
> > (www.atari.com/godzilla)...since then, I found it impossible to remove
> > it. I used every way in the book, but it simply shows up again...plz
> > give me advice.
> >
>
> What OS?
> What browser?
> What AV do you have installed?
> Are you running Spybot S&D's Teatimer or SDHelper utilities?
>
> --
> Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)
>
> Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
> http://www.crashfixpc.com
>
> http://tinyurl.com/6oztj
>
> Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's


Posted by Noel Paton on July 22, 2006, 1:06 pm
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options

> My OS in WINXP PRO, I am using spybot kill & destroy.+ ZONE ALARM + AVG
> antivirus.
> I scanned computer with these 3 packages and nothing came up....., and
> changed homepage from IE-Tools-internet options....but as I hit
> homepage, this ATARI comes again like you did nothing.....
> what a mess...
>
> plz guys advise me...thanks
>
>


Please be accurate! - there is no such thing as "Spybot kill and destroy"
(except possibly a spoof of the real app!)

Zone Alarm AND Spybot S&D (which is what I suspect you meant) both have the
capability to prevent changes to the Home page - and if you already have an
illegitimate homepage, then they can perpetuate it... disable both, and then
try again.

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's


Similar ThreadsPosted
Whats that website............? September 22, 2005, 9:55 am
Website Designing October 28, 2005, 12:47 am
website that analyzes samples? December 17, 2005, 4:12 pm
What happens there? Yahoo Website goes crazy February 21, 2006, 9:37 am
Unique Freeware Website September 20, 2006, 5:24 pm
Strang message from one website May 22, 2007, 1:50 pm
Website cert fails June 8, 2008, 11:42 pm
what website to use to access this newsgroup? June 19, 2008, 10:33 pm
Re: Big Star Reviews - Shill Website! May 19, 2008, 2:28 pm
Risks of unblocking Chinese website on my firewall September 13, 2005, 8:53 am

The site map in XML format XML site map

Contact Us | Privacy Policy