|
Posted by zirath on May 10, 2008, 7:00 am
If you were Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options Beauregard T. Shagnasty wrote:
> zirath wrote:
>
>> We recently got an email that says we got a "friend request" from ()
>> (someone we know).
>
> Your friend is Mary Parks?
>
>> It had a picture of the person a said to go to a web site
>> (http://www.taggedmail.com/welcome.html? <snip Mary's codes>
>
> The link you posted for all to see takes you specifically to your
> friend's page. She'll thank you for telling the world about her, and
> also divulging your Verizon email address to everyone.
>
>> At the site it asks for information in order to be on this "friend's"
>> list.
>>
>> When I got in touch with the person she said that she hadn't sent it
>> and that it grabbed her email list and was sending these things to
>> all the people on her list.
>
> Either she has something from that site installed, or she subscribes to
> one of those invasive services that purports to be able to tell her
> "when someone receives my email and opens it", or..
>
>> Is this a new virus?
>
> ..it is a virus/worm/trojan, but unlikely.
>
> Check the source of the email and look for web bugs.
>
This was not my friend's page - she says that she doesn't have a page
and doesn't know anything about the site.
I wasn't too worried about her picture since it wasn't sexual and has
been posted on other newsgroups with her permission. (I didn't want my
un-spam-protected email shown tho - thanks for deleting it.)
I posted the url because I thought the virus/etc might be somehow coming
thru it.
|